Skip to main content

Cross-border payments fee charges

Cross-border payments fee charges

Last updated: 25-May-2021
Rate this article:


A cross-border fee is a type of credit card processing fee that is applied when a merchant in one country accepts payment for a transaction from a customer whose card was issued in another country.

For international payments outside the merchant's home country, a cross-border fee of 2% is charged on top of the transaction fees agreed upon in the contract. 

The cross-border fee applies only to the 2Sell and 2Subscribe accounts. 


Recommended resources

Countries exempted from cross-border fees

Only merchants registered in the countries listed below are exempt from the cross-border fees:

  • Austria
  • Australia
  • Belgium
  • Canada
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Luxembourg
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America  

Cross-border fees for high-risk countries

The cross-border fee may vary for countries considered high-risk (where the risk of fraud is high). For example, for Pakistan, the cross-border fee is 3%.

Rate this article:
Logo of Verifone